Friday, 29 December 2017

Dheur, Dejardin and Marain win events in Belgium

Several WASPA tournament have recently been held in Belgium with some good turnouts.

Valéry Dejardin takes Christmas Cup

JSC Rochefort was holding a Christmas Cup on December 22. Due to the size of the venue, organizers decided to have no more than 18 players and they had to refuse some entries! In the end, players from Wammes, Rochefort TS and Temploux came to play against local players. Valéry Dejardin won the final on shots against world champion Rémy Huynh while Rémy Honet and Nathan Dizier reached the top 4 (full results to come).

Christophe Dheur wins in Verviers
After a rather long hyatus, SC Verviers-Herve hosted a tournament on December 15 with a good turnout of 8 players and a quite high level of play. In the final, Christophe Dheur (Charleroi) defeated Pascal Scheen (Valletta) while local players Jean-Michel Cuenca and Philippe Roufosse made it to the semis.

Picture: Pascal Scheen and Christophe Dheur in the recent Europa Cup for clubs in Rochefort

New record in Templeuve
There was another Christmas Cup in Belgium but this time it was a tournament held in Templeuve. Surprisingly, there was a very high field of 22 entries with representatives from 6 clubs and strong representation from Eugies and AS Hennuyer. Organizers decided to play 2 categories as according to the level of players. The "Serie A" had 10 players and some great games. Geoffrey marain (AS Hennuyer) had an hard challenge to win the event but he managed to win top games against Steffen Despretz and Maxime Rairoux to claim another WASPA title. He was the only player to finish the evening with four wins. Steffen Despretz was runner-up while Corentin Boltz was a very surprising third in the final table with just a few more goals scored than Michaël Dupret. "Serie B" had a great field of 12 players and several competitors had the feeling it was the "chance of their life" to win a first tournament. In the end, Eric Caillaux and Damien Urbain ended the evening with 10 points but the Frenchman won the tournament thanks to a better goal-difference. After this fantastic turnout, Templeuve players are really hoping to get another great tournament on January 4.

Final standings in Serie A:
1. Geoffrey Marain (AS Hennuyer)
2. Steffen Despretz (AS Hennuyer)
3. Corentin Boltz (AS Hennuyer)
4. Michaël Dupret (MT Tournai)
5. Maxime Rairoux (Eugies)
6. Vincent Coppenolle (Templeuve)
7. Stéphane Lambert (Yokohama)
8. Renald Deloose (Templeuve)
9. Matthias Averlant (Templeuve)
10. Sébastien Denne (Eugies)

Picture: Corentin Boltz, Geoffrey Marain, Steffen Despretz.

Final standings in Serie B:
1. Eric Caillaux (Templeuve)
2. Damien Urbain (Eugies)
3. André Boltz (AS Hennuyer)
4. Noah Denne (Eugies)
5. Léa Despretz (AS Hennuyer)
6ea. Benjamin Marain (SC Warcoings Ducks)
6ea. Franck Santer (Templeuve)
8ea. Jordan Bonte (Templeuve)
8ea. Florian Renaut (Templeuve)
10ea. Frédéric Cyganek (AS Hennuyer)
10ea. Jérôme Cyganek (AS Hennuyer)
12. Julie Taquin (Templeuve)

Picture: André Boltz, Eric Caillaux, Damien Urbain

No comments:

Post a Comment