Friday, 26 September 2014

First tournament of the season in Templeuve for Vincent Coppenolle

The finalists: Vincent Coppenolle and Jason Delattre
The first tournament of the "Challenge de Templeuve 2014-2015" was held this thursday with a small field of 8 players. There were some missing players among the usual "big names". Geoffrey Marain (work), Renald Deloose (birthday party), and a few others couldn't make it so the title was supposed go to either Eddy Beernaert or Vincent Coppenolle. As it is often the case in such a situation, there were many surprises and in group 2, things were crazy as after two sessions, the four players had on victory and everything was going to be decided in the last group game. The improving Jason Delattre and U15 player Matthias Averlant managed to qualifyu while Eddy Beernaert and Olivier BOdelle were dropped in the consolation tournament. The semi-finals were very different as Matthias Averlant had no chance to beat Vincent Coppenolle while Jason Delattre score the winning goal in the last 30 seconds to beat Jordan Bonte on an amazing score of 6-5. The final was close till the last 5 minutes but Vincent Coppenolle finally beat Jason Delattre to win his 7th title in the WASPA circuit.

To be noted the event was played with the new FISTF and despite some of the rules don't really bring any improvement to the game, everyone accepted and understood them.
Sudden death in the semi-final between Jordan Bonte and Jason Delattre

Final table of the evening:
1. Vincent Coppenolle
2. Jason Delattre
3. Matthias Averlant
4. Jordan Bonte
5. Eddy Beernaert
6. Olivier Bodelle
7. Philippe Godart and Jérémy Zenner