Monday, 1 September 2014

28th WASPA title for Geoffrey Marain

The finalists
The monthly tournament of the Templeuve United series took place on sunday with a field of 12 players coming from six different clubs. The event also included a french player from the Lille area. Players were dropped in two groups of six. The event was played in 8 sessions of 20 minutes so that everyone played 8 different games. Geoffrey Marain and Eddy Beernaert finished on top of their respective groups. Eddy surprisingly lost his quarter-final against Stéphane Lambert, the recent semi-finalist of the FISTF Grand Prix of Japan. Lambert continued his winning streak by defeating Vincent Guyaux on shots in the first semi while Geoffrey Marain beat Vincent Coppenolle in the other semi. Marain won the final 2-0, taking his 28th WASPA title. Next season the Templeuve United club will continue his development with monthly tournament and a season ranking.

Here is the final ranking of the tournament.
1. Geoffrey Marain (SC Eugies)
2. Stéphane Lambert (Kent Invicta)
3. Vincent Coppenolle (Templeuve United)
4. Vincent Guyaux (SC Flanders)
5. Eddy Beernaert (SC Flanders)
6. Dirk Vekemans (Kent Invicta)
7. Matthias Averlant (Templeuve United)
8. Dany Timmerman (SC Auvelais)
9. Olivier Bodelle (FRANCE/Templeuve United)
10. Steve Jamotte (Standard Liège)
11. Jordan Bonte (Templeuve United)
12. Jason Delattre (Templeuve United)