Tuesday, 19 February 2019

Giannis Bougiouris wins Mundial 1970 tournament

On Saturday 9/2/2019 Flaming Flickers SC had their 41st WASPA tournament with Mundial 1970 theme.

16 players competed for the trophy and the winner was Brazil of Giannis Bougiouris after a close final with England of Alekos Apatzis.

Congratulations to all for the great games in the WASPA spirit!

Monday, 18 February 2019

Paul Eyes wins Presidents Cup

Paul Eyes (BlackRose 1998 Roma) won the 2019 Presidents Cup in a Swiss Ladder style tournament that featured 9 players. Key results were a 0-0 between Eyes and Cranston, Eyes defeating Tillman 2-1, and Cranston defeating Tillman 3-2. With the title being decided on goal difference, a narrow 3-2 win by Cranston over an impressive Adolfo Colindres proved decisive.

Final standings:
1. Paul Eyes
2. Daniel Cranston
3. Michael Tillman
4. Andrew Zunino
5. Bryan Arnold
6. Sam Cohen
7. Grant Lilly
8. Adolfo Colindres
9. Claudio Santos

Sunday, 17 February 2019

Nobody can stop Geoffrey Marain

The recent tournament of the Warcoing Ducks attracted 9 players on February 13 and as usual, it was a good evening for Geoffrey Marain who finished on top of the Swiss ladder with 4 wins. Matthias Averlant was runner-up with 9 points while Logan Carette, who had not played for a while, finished in third position. For most of the players taking part, the evening was more importantly a good way to prepare for the national interclubs day of February 16 in Temploux.

Final standings
1. Geoffrey Marain (AS Hennuyer) 12 points
2. Matthias Averlant (Templeuve) 9
3. Logan Carette (Templeuve) 7
4. Vincent Coppenolle (Templeuve) 7
5. Michaël Dupret (MT Tournai) 6
6. Arthur Clique (Templeuve) 6
7. Eric Caillaux (France/Templeuve) 4
8. Sébastien Sorge (France/Templeuve) 4
9. Benjamin Marain (Warcoing) 3

Saturday, 16 February 2019

Fabrizio Coco wins in the Falcons'Nest

Fabrizio Coco claimed the second Northern Falcons WASPA of the year, with a nerve wracking victory by shots over clubmate Tony Credentino.

A healthy turnout of 12 players contested the event, with an early shock when Adrian Grunbach edged Eliot Kennedy 2-1.
Steve's propensity to hit the post with chipped shots saw him dip out in the 'group of death', while Eliot recovered to beat Jonty and qualify with Adrian G from their group.

Hermann Kruse and Adrian Elmer advanced from Group C, while very little separated eternal rivals Oli Ollnow and Torben Pfister before they both advanced.

Fabrizio and Elion had convincing wins in their quarterfinals, while Tony edged Hermann 1-0. Oli Ollnow and Adrian G needed shots to decide their encounter, with Oli winning 2-0.

In the semis, Eliot battled hard and had a golden opportunity with seconds left on the clock to equalise against Fab, but fluffed his lines, and Fab burst forward to snatch a late second. In the other, Tony continued his stirling form with a 1-0 win against Oli.

The final was packed with drama. Tony scored early, and then had to battle against Fab's intense pressure. With just over a minute remaining, Fab got his equaliser, taking the match to shots.

The pressure remained, with both players taking their chances, before Fab scored with the last of his five to win 3-2.

Another great night at the Falcons' Nest!!!

Friday, 15 February 2019

Gareth Christie and Malcolm Lees winners in Glasgow

Gareth Christie Open winner

Malcolm Lees veterans champion
The Scottish Grand Prix took place last week-end in Glasgow and it was a success. Organizers did a great job hosting two WASPA tournaments for Open players and Veterans in the second part of the Individual contest. 12 Open players and 15 veterans took part. In the veterans the host club finished with 3 players in the semi-finals. It turned out to be an all Glasgow affair with the club's elder statesman Malcolm Lees edging out John Halpin in the final.

The final in the open category was contested by Scotland's Gareth Christie and England's Trevor schott. They had met earlier in the day where Trev came out on top. This time it was Gareth who came out on top.

Congrats to all players who took part.

Open semi-finals
Martinog Bradley - Gareth Christie 1-3
Stuart Walsh - Trevor Schott 0-3

Gareth Christie - Trevor Schott 1*-1

Veterans semi-finals
Andy Boyer - Malcolm Lees 0-2
John Halpin - Tom Burns 1-0

Malcolm Lees - John Halpin 3-2

Thursday, 14 February 2019

Bob Fairbrother wins WASPA event in Devon

This competition was held at Bristol SFC HQ in South Devon and welcomed the entrants of Peter Brown, Adam Fraser and Tim Mourant to join Bob Fairbrother for some Retro frolics. A straight league – play each other twice format - meant it was a gruelling few hours as no player had a breather from the action part from lunch being served at the halfway mark – so perhaps not such a high tide mark on the arduous measure, after all!

With 11 seconds left on the clock in the last round of matches the prize was in Tim’s hands as he led the table with a point lead and need only draw to take the bottle of scotch home.  Fairbrother had other ideas as he procured a chance from a tight angle to take aim and fire into the top far corner – queue Aguero style Premiership winning celebrations!

A close competition and fought with great sportsmanship and endeavour.

Final standings:
1. Bob Fairbrother
2. Tim Mourant
3. Peter Brown
4. Adam Fraser

Wednesday, 13 February 2019

Subbuteo action in München

This week-end there was Subbuteo action in München, Germany. A great gathering with five players offered to all competitors the chance to play 8 games. After the home and away fixtures, Roland Popp (BSC Schwalbach) took the honors with 8 wins while Serbia's top player Milan Knezevic, who lives in Germany and now plays from DLF Gorizia from Italy was runner-up. Renato Parussini, also from Goirizia, took the third place. Maurizio Zironi, an Italian from the "Subbuteisti Modena", was fourth while German player Matthias Stechern gained experience in his WASPA debut.

The main goal of the day was to enjoy playing and to give a chance to play competitive games in a fair spirit without taking results too seriously. Hopefully such a tournament can boost interest for the WASPA circuit in Germany and more events will be held in the future.

Tuesday, 12 February 2019

A Table Soccer club in San Diego

There is a new club in California. The "San Diego Table Soccer Club" has now a Facebook page here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/646149129139884
The new club will have a tournament on March 3. Interested players can check the event page at https://www.facebook.com/events/588943458241219/

WASPA are very happy about the great news and we wish San Diego Table Soccer Club a great future!

Demetrios Rebis winner for the second time

Last Saturday, the club of Roligans held their second WASPA tournament. It was a single group of six players and in the end, Demetrios Rebis won his second tournament while Angelos Foutrakis was runner-up. Raphael Kalogerakos, Georgios Karachalios, Georgios Dimakeas and Marios Foteinopoulos were the other players taking part. Huge thanks to the Roligans club!

Saturday, 9 February 2019

Rudy Hesty winner in Singapore

The second day of the TFAS League 2019 was held on 3 February, with 6 players playing a full round robin. Rudy Hesty was back on form, winning all of his games this time round.

Finals standings (points and GD)
1. Rudy -> 15 / 14
2. Anas -> 12 / 9
3. Bernard -> 7 /
4. Vikas -> 7 / 2
5. Rizal -> 1 / -15
6. Isaac -> 1 / -16