Sunday, 6 May 2018

Peter Alegi wins Flicko de Mayo

Chris Sweetland vs Joe Legatz 

Alegi, 2018 Flicko de Mayo winner
The 7th annual Flicko de Mayo tournament was played on May 5, at The Summit Sports Complex in Lansing, Michigan. Participants came from Iowa, Illinois, Pennsylvania, and, of course, Michigan.

The first round of group play featured some exciting games. Erik Haefke held Alegi to a fiercely contested 1-1 draw, while Chris Sweetland scored the only goal against Paul Pate in a crucial head-to-head match. IIias Gikas bounced back from two early losses with a string of impressive wins. Alex Galarza and Joe Legatz put in solid performances as well.

In the semifinals, Haefke fought off Gikas’s comeback and Alegi took care of Sweetland. Alegi’s shooting touch was on fine display in the final, which he won 5-1 over Haefke.

In the last event of the day, Chicago TSC defeated Grand Rapids TSC 2-1 in the Great Lakes Cup (Team Challenge).
Chicago TSC, winners of the 2018 Great Lakes Cup (Team Challenge)

Thanks to all participants for the good competition and camaraderie. See you in 2019!

No comments:

Post a Comment