Monday, 26 January 2015

Matthew Thomas wins in Thornaby

Rob Heseltine, Jeff Parsons, Mike Parnaby, Matthew Thomas, Ben Staples and Chris Kaberry
Six players turned out for this edition of the Lionsraw Championship at the NETFA club. Chris Kaberry was starting his title defence but as champion, the others were looking to knock him off his pedestal. It was nice to see Matthew Thomas play this time as we started our 2015 championship. It was Matthew who took tonight's title, winning on goal difference from Mike Parnaby. Jeff Parsons showed once more why he will always be up there in the table with some tight results. Chris Kaberry ended up in fourth place overall and Ben Staples ended up in fifth, despite playing really well. Rob Heseltine brought up the rear, but he is looking better each time we play and getting closer all the time!
Matthew Thomas
Final table
1st: Matthew Thomas
2nd: Mike Parnaby
3rd: Jeff Parsons
4th: Chris Kaberry
5th: Ben Staples
6th: Rob Heseltine

(Report by Mike Parnaby)