Monday, 2 January 2017

Nic Tan takes the honors in Singapore

Lim Ding Heng, Mohd Rizal Taib, Mohd Faizul Jaafar, Galvin Ho, Muhd Fadhly Fahmi, Mohd Farhan Jaafar, Nic Tan, Muhammad Salihin

The finalists: Muhd Fadhly
Fahmi (L) and Nic Tan (R)
The Jurong Central Subbuteo Club held its last WASPA tournament for the year, the Residents’ Committee Cup (RC Cup) in the evening of Friday, 30 December 2016. Besides celebrating another year of active table football activity at the club, the tournament coincided with a potluck party at the venue with the residents of the area in which club players actively participated as well.

While a number of regulars and top players were absent, there was a decent participation of eight players. This included a surprising re-welcome to four of the club’s former youth players and now young men, Fadhly, Galvin, Farhan, and Faizul. They were active players in their schooling days in the days of Jurong Central Subbuteo Club’s predecessor entity, the Leste Aquila Subbuteo Club. They are currently performing or have recently concluded their national service obligations.

Players were divided into two groups of four with the group winners meeting in a final to decide the tournament winner. Nic Tan was the winner of Group 1 with three wins out of three. In Group 2, Fadhly, Farhan, and Galvin enjoyed close games between them, showing little signs of table football rust with Fadhly edging out Farhan for the top spot. In the final, Nic Tan beat Fadhly 3-0 to end off table football activities at the club for the year, and win the RC Cup.

Do join us next year for the club’s league sessions / WASPA tournaments, and the club’s regular Friday flicks sessions! All are welcome!

No comments:

Post a Comment