Wednesday, 9 September 2020

Morgan takes the Spring Title

Sean Morgan returned to the Subbuteo tables in sublime form by winning the annual Spring Tournament proudly hosted by the Johannesburg TFC aka the Joburg Eagles.

Liam and Sean after the Spring Final

A very good field of 11 players including two juniors, one Malawian, one Zimbabwean and a local sports journalist from the local newspaper, The Northside Chronicle, contested the annual tourney at Randburg AFC.

All the players were divided into two groups and Sean Morgan qualified as group winner without dropping a point and conceeding a goal. The other group was a titanic struggle that was only finalized via goal difference between Liam Chapman, Jason Kennedy and Carl Bolweg. Liam edged out Jason and Carl to qualify as group winner. This is a tremendous feat by Liam as he only started playing recently in the South African Solo league and to make the final in only his second tournament is great news for the ETS Subbuteo Club.

Ryan and Finn after the junior final

Clifford narrowly defeated Carl by a solitary goal for 5th place.Due the fact that we had two juniors partaking in the tournament, a Junior Final was held whereby Finn pipped his friend, Ryan by the odd goal in a penalty shoot-out.

Jason also defeated Angus by the odd goal to secure third spot.

Action shot between Liam and Sean

The Tournament Final pitted favourite Sean Morgan from the Joburg Eagles against the up and coming Liam Chapman from ETS Subbuteo Club. Liam showed some sublime defensive touches, however the classy play by experienced Sean Morgan proved a bit to much for Liam. Sean's continuous pressure counted in the end and he claimed the annual Spring Tournament title by scoring two unanswered goals.

Once again fun and enjoyment was the over-riding result and all players left Randburg AFC looking forward to the next tournament!

(Report by Clifford Graaff)

1 comment:

  1. Hi! I found the valuable football video.
    Brazil against Japan in 1999.
    Famous player Nakata, Rivalco,Cafu,Juninho Pernambucano.