Tuesday, 30 January 2018

Belgium: events in Verviers, Hofstade, Templeuve and Rochefort

There were several WASPA tournaments in January in Belgium. Clubs like Verviers-Herve, Templeuve, SC Flanders and JSC Rochefort have run different tournaments with many different players taking part.
Top 4 in Templeuve: Averlant - Heyvaert - Marain - Lambert
Templeuve United held two events. The first one was a regional tournament played in Swiss system. Geoffrey Marain tied in his game against Vincent Coppenolle but finally own the decisive game in the last session against Jérôme Heyvaert to claim the honors. The final standings were as follows:
1. Geoffrey Marain
2. Jérôme Heyvaert
3. Matthias Averlant
4. Stéphane Lambert
5. Vincent Coppenolle
6. Michaël Dupret
7. Jérôme Cyganek
8. Franck Santer
9. Eric Caillaux
10. Frédéric Cyganek
11. Jordan Bonte

The other Templeuve tournament was a promotional event with 5 players cometing. Matthias Averlant had to struggle to take the honors but finishd on top of the group with 3 wins and a draw. Final table:
1. Matthias Averlant
2. Eric Caillaux
3. Franck Santer
4. Jordan Bonte
5. Héléna Marain

Frank Lannoy, Jos Ceulemans, Johan Lourdon
In the Flanders, six players attended the event held in Hofstade-Zemst. Jos Ceulemans won his four games to win the Swiss ladder while Frank Lannoy was runner-up.
1. Jos Ceulemans
2. Frank Lannoy
3. Johan Lourdon
4. Stéphane Lambert
5. Danny De Greef
6. Filip Van Hulle

SC Verviers-Herve held two regional tournaments this month. The first one had a great field of 12 players with a group stage and a knock-out stage. Christophe Brach managed to win his first WASPA trophy after defeating Tony Braham in the final. Christophe Dheur and Pascal Scheen lost in the semi-finals.
Good turnout of 12 on January 19
The other tournament in verviers had another field of 12 and was played in the same format. Daniel Scheen defeated Pascal Scheen in the final to claim his third WASPA title. Tony Braham and Sébastien Scheen reached the semi-finals.

Finally, JSC Rochefort held a tournament with 6 players on January 26. Valéry Dejardin won all his games to claim the title. Maxime Muraille and Didier Stévenot ended on the podium.

No comments:

Post a Comment